West Indies reduced one T20 match from the domestic series against Pakistan

T20 series between the two teams will start from Wednesday

Cricket West Indies (CWI) has reduced one T20 International match from the home series against Pakistan. 

According to the earlier schedule, both the teams were to play five T20 matches, but now they will play only four matches. The series, which was scheduled to start on July 27, will now start from July 28. There has been no change in the two-Test series.

Confirming the news, a CWI official said, “We have cancelled the first T20, and the rest of the series will be played as per the earlier schedule. We have to give more importance to the ODI Super League and World Test Championship.”

Why was there a change in the series against Pakistan?

The series against Pakistan had to be changed because the second ODI between West Indies and Australia had to be postponed due to the Corona case coming to the West Indies camp. While the second ODI was played on 24 July, the last match is played on 26 July. Due to the change in the series against Australia, West Indies have also had to change the schedule against Pakistan.

West Indies is not in a position to play all matches

West Indies have a hectic schedule, and in such a situation, they cannot play all the matches against Pakistan. The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is also to start at the end of next month. The CPL schedule has also been changed at the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). It could not compete with the Indian Premier League (IPL), due to which it is being started a little early.

A full schedule of Pakistan’s tour of the West Indies

The West Indies ODI series against Australia will end on 26 July (27 July in India). The series against Pakistan will start soon after.

The first T-20: 28 Julai K

One T-20: on 31 July.

Third T-20: August 1 K

Fourth T-20: August 03.

First Test: 12-16 August.

Second Test: 20-24 August.

Exit mobile version